Month: October 2017

Heathcote Crowned 2017 Toyo Tires MSA British Rallycross Champion

2017 Toyo Tires MSA British Rallycross Champion Heathcote

Ashford based Heathcote has just gone and became the 2017 Toyo Tires MSA British Rallycross Champion in his maiden season. The young driver secured the victory in the final round at Croft Circuit last weekend, as his biggest title-rival Julian Godfrey failed to finish.

Heathcote showed some truly superb driving throughout the competition and the Croft victory is his third of the nine-round campaign. Having entered the last event 10-points behind the five time champion Godfrey, he managed to successfully qualify top in the Intermediate Classification, win the the semi-final race and lead the final one from start to finish.

Last event of the season most definitely proved to be an utter misfortune for Godfrey, who initially led Heathcote in the semi-final race until a technical problem and lost him some precious time, resulting in a third-row start in the final. However, not all was lost for the Heathfield based driver yet, final race saw him rapidly climbing the order, promising a possible championship recovery. Sadly his Ford Fiesta suffered sudden right-rear suspension damage after harsh contact with Pat Doran, Dolton, causing him to retire and finish the championship in 8th place.

Even though young, Heathcote’s victory at Corft is not the first on his books, it comes just a year after his 2016 Swift Sport Rallycross Championship title win, proving that older age and more experience can very well be outrun by a natural talent. He was joined on final race podium by home hero Kevin Procter, Northallerton, while another young championship driver Oliver Bennett, Bristol, completed the podium after gaining his seventh podium finish of the season.

Further down the line, Steve Hill, Thame, took fourth place and saw the best finish of the season in his Mitsubishi Evo X. Jake Harris, Canewdon followed in fifth, with Pat Doran, Dolton, in sixth, while former BTCC driver, RCIB Insurance Racing Sponsored, Team BMR Principal, Warren Scott, Buntingford, finished with did not finish due to technical problems, however was seventh overall.

Heathcote followed his Championship success by dominating the Procters Coaches MSA British Rallycross Grand Prix at the same circuit. What a great season for the young driver!

British Rallycross Grand Prix at Croft

British Rallycross Grand Prix

The Procters Coaches MSA British Rallycross Grand Prix is set to feature a revised format for the 2017 edition at Croft. Up to 40 cars will be entering the battle for the chance to become the British RX Grand Prix victor.

The new format will go like this, each driver will take part in two qualifiers, with the top 32 moving into four quarter-finals. The top four drivers in each of the quarter-finals will progress to two semi-finals, where the top four from each will qualify for the Grand Prix. It is said that the format has been created to provide as equal chance for all contenders as possible. The knock-out nature of quarter finals and semi-finals is not difficult to follow and should prove to be a lot more exciting for the spectators to watch. Seeing as the Grand Prix is the most important race of them all, it should be different from other events, although not lose the tradition of mixed-class racing.

The northern circuit will host the ninth and the last event of the season on October 21st. Procters Coaches MSA British Rallycross Grand Prix event will follow and take place on October 22nd. Sunday will also see the finals for the MSA Supercar and MSA Supernational categories.

Julian Godfrey, Heathfield, who is a five-time champion is in with a good chance of securing a sixth British RX title at the North Yorkshire Circuit this Weekend. However, the well known engineer will be entering the season finale with only one hand on his coveted Toyo Tires MSA British Rallycross Championship trophy.

It is still too early to speculate who will take home the 2017 British RX crown.The vastly experienced driver and engineer Godfrey will come to a stand-off with two of the youngest and a lot less experienced drivers in the series at Croft, Nathan Heathcote, Ashford and Oliver Bennett, Bristol. Godfrey, having won 4 rounds, currently stands with ten points ahead of the second place holder, Heathcote.

Bennett is really biting at the heels of the top two, with only two missed podiums in his first ever season of rallycross, racing an OlsbergMSE-built Ford Fiesta Supercar. He currently stands four points behind Heathcote and 14 down on Godfrey, however with Kevin Procter, Northallerton and Warren Scott, Buntingford right behind, competition is high.

With so many points still left up for grabs, we can anticipate an intense contest!

Ash Sutton Crowned the 2017 BTCC Champion, While Moffat Takes Race 1 Win

2017 BTCC Champion

Last weekend of September saw the final 2017 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship event take place at the Kent based Brands Hatch circuit. With six race wins and fourteen podium titles earned in the overall championship, Adrian Flux Subaru Racing’s Ashley Sutton has been crowned the 2017 BTCC Champion. The 23 year old Essex based driver, took the win after an intense set of three rounds, although without a single first place win, Sutton took two third place podium wins, which gave him enough championship points to dominate the event.

The final drivers podium was completed with Team BMW’s Colin Turkington in second place and Speedworks Motorsport’s Tom Ingram in third. Turkington’s sensational race 2 win, meant that Sutton was left with only a six point advantage and in danger going into the final round. However, luck really shined upon Sutton in the championship finale, lap two saw Ingram’s Toyota and Mat Jackson’s Ford touch at the Graham Hill Bend, forcing the latter wide on the exit of the turn. As Jackson’s car returned to the track, Turkington’s oncoming 1-Series happened to be in the wrong place at the wrong time and contact between the two was unavoidable. Collision meant that Turkington’s championship title dream was over, as the rear-right upright on his car had been massively damaged. Rob Austin took the win, while Ash Sutton secured his championship win after finishing in third.

Moffat celebrates first round win, while Ingram takes P2 and Sutton P3

Laser Tools Racing’s, RCIB Insurance Racing sponsored Aiden Moffat, the BTCC’s youngest ever driver, took home a first place win in Round 1 and once again proved his competence and skill, since his maiden race win in Donington Park earlier this season.

Ingram claimed the Independent Driver’s honours, as well as securing the Independent Teams’ title for his Speedworks Motorsport team. Furthermore, Ingram claimed third place in the overall championship standings after gaining advantage over the reigning champion Gordon Shedden and demoting him to fourth.

Turkington, even though missing out on the 2017 BTCC Champion’s crown, saw his Team BMW take both the Manufacturers’ and Teams’ championship titles.

Power Maxed Racing’s Senna Proctor showed impressive performance and finished his rookie campaign by taking home the sought after Jack Sears Trophy.

With the final curtain falling on another superb Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship, RCIB Insurance Racing will be back once again for the 2018 season in Kent at Brands Hatch on 7/8 April.